Saturday, February 28, 2015

Shuriken Sentai Ninninger Episode 1 review Jappanese Modern Family

Power Rangers oh ok you already know where I am going with this. So when the 2015-2016 Super Sentai Show was announced I was excited then after reading some posts I got a little skeptical mainly due too how many aspects were "borrowed" from Shienkenger like the suitsRangers Together, Samurai Forever!(yeah I know I copypasted the pictures from the wiki WHCHA GONNA DO THO I am actually researching a bit on Shienkenenger and now I kinda wanna watch it but I can't take it seriously like many Sentai shows due to it's adaptations)Team-ninninger(DARE TO COMPARE WITH SHEINKENGER also we all know the abominations to mankind that Sabad adaptations and Vaginacom turned Sheinkenger into so not gonna make the joke that and it's to godawful for me that and after Super Megafail I think Saban's learned his leason what happens when he tries to make a carbon copy of Sentai) the swordsShinken-shinkenmaru
Still ichibantou01
 and how similar the mechsShinkenOh SSN-Shurikenjinlook granted many of the mechs nowadays look like Shurikenjin but still also ToqugerStation-18  I cannot stand that show mainly because it stole many off it's aspects from Kamen Rider Den-o (I didn't know that Den-o and Toqugerr we're written by the same person ok some of the episodes of Den-o were written by the person who wrote easily my least favorite Sentai for now)      Image result for kamen rider den-o            (Right wishes he was Ryotaro and/or Momotaros despite how much screentime Momotaros stole this side of Jan aka Gekired)(granted Den-o is kinda the reason why Tokusastsu in general is taking a conmedic direction but with Gaim Kamen Rider is kinda breaking away from said direction) a much farther superior Tokusasu Show and KyrougerKyoryugers teams go too Sean Nice's Kamen Sentai Blog too know how that show works and Go-BustersFive busters  again go see Sean Nice's Kamen Sentai Blog. Now the thing is we have 2 examples in the past few years that Kamen Rider can get it's show out of sticky situations for instance Decade ruined the reputation of many Kamen Rider shows in 2009 but in late 2009 Kamen Rider Double came and blew everyone's minds in a good way however Toei thought that if they can copy what made Double popular but made it more toy focused and kiddy it would work then we got OOO and Fourze both of which got mixed reactions from fans with OOO's being a bit more favored and Fourze's reception being a bit unfavored then in late 2012 we got Wizard while from the 4 episodes that I've seen I'm not a huge fan of but I can definitely see it's appeal and I probably will watch cause it dos have some good suspense. Many people claimed Wizard was a return to the formula that Kuuga the series that revived the Kamen Rider series for the 3rd time in 2000 which has ha hero with many various forms. Then in Late 2013 we got Kamen Rider Gaim which I deffinately need too get back to watching when this post is done cause it's awesome, now we are at Drive which has gotten mixed reaction however it's got the LUCK OF THE IRISH (not racist I'm partially irish myself)metaphorically speaking of being what's following Gaim while I do like what I've seen of it (I've barely seen any of it I'm just waiting till some of my Toku watch list is cleared up basically I'm waiting till I finish one of the shows I'm watching, unfortunately that might be a while I'm busy with school)(Review for that is coming soon). Sentai hasn't proved it can get itself out of a few bad seasons the last example that I know of was Jetman BirdmanTaskforceJetman (fair warning this was definitely the darkest Sentai ever got and ironically this was what was supposed to originally be what was used for Mighty Morphin Power Rangers Season 1 but was considered "too dark for American kids" trust me they weren't kidding with that remark I can recommend it though easily the best villans in Sentai history literaly the only problem I do have is as good as villans Radiguet, Tran, and Grey were I'd love to know more about them sure we do get a bit of a backstory with Empress Juzza but that just leaves more questions to answer and do they answer NOPE remember, that Gai Yuki guy he was in this I've got to give whoever wrote this show credit he or she really gave it his or her A game though who wrote it?Toshiki Inoue(plays the dramatic gopher theme in the background) well I spoke too soon but seorously this single handdingly ignited Inoue's writing carrer and as much as f--ked up with Hibiki (episode 30 onward) and Decade he diffinately nailed it here(Faiz and Agito were ok in my book) granted he co wrote the previous 5 Sentai Series this was his first time as main writter )(also despite the Hibiki running he wrote easily the best 2 episodes of my favorite Sentai series guess which one if you use the wiki congratulations you cheated) and that was 1991, another thing that has gotten me nervous is that the villains are YoukaiKibaoniArmyCorpslike Kakuranger Templegate  and the villains make their MOTW out of everyday average objects like a ton of recent ones like Jetman and Dairanger, and the villains are plaining to get people scared so that they can awaken their leader sound familiar. Ok enough of me ranting it's time for the review of Shuriken Sentai Ninninger Shinobi 1 We're Ninja!
Shuriken-01
 same episode title as the 1st episode of Kakuranger what was wrong with the original title people? Ok I will admit I've seen this episode without subs but I unfortunately am white and American so I don't know Jappanese so credit goes to TV Nihon for subbing.

So we got the Super Sentai Series logo then we see leaves then we see a guy dressed in red walk to a dojoNinnin-takaharu(how much money you wanna bet he's gonna be the red ranger here?) he then says it's been a while since he's been there then It's been less then a minute and we already see the production crew  waste money with CGI explosions then  we see Urutaros form Kamen Rider Den-oDen-O-urataros2's kids wearing Samurai
Hitokarage HD
  hats then obvious red which means if they take the Kyrouger route he's gonna be the only character to get any screen time get attacked he then pulls a shienkenmaru he then throws a lockseedKrGa-Orange Lockseed at the Hitokarage wait if it's a lockseed then that would make the shienkenmaru a musou saberMusousaber   or perhaps a DJ gunDJ Gun - Standard Mode (it has a sword mode)DJ Gun - Taiken Mode , the Hitokarage ask who he is then he awnsers "A Ninja" then we see mr. red put his Nin Shriken(CAUSE TOY SALES WILL GO THROUGH THE ROOF) on his Transformation Hidden Ninja Sword Ichibantou
Still ichibantou01
(Try saying that 3 times fast.) and presses the red button causing it to explode(ok no) he then spins his Secret Disc uhh I meant Nin Shuriken on the sword and SUPRISE HE IS THE RED RANGER (well unlike the past 2 sentai shows the 1st episode isn't about red being an idiot and then joining the team) so Akaninger fights the Yokai squad while the ok theme song plays in the background but not before he declares his name Igasaki Takaharu and he states that he is the decedent of the last ninja aka Igasaki Yoshitaka then we get to the theme which much like Kamen Rider Wizard's opening has no real opening just the theme song playing in the background while the main hero AkaNinger 20150305 161056000 iOS(Aka= Jappanese for Red) fights some foot soldiers at least it's not a ton of backflips screaming then CGI apart from the CGI rider kick knockoff and those Hitokarage got guns also we see a weird cat person
Kyuemon Izayoi
carrying a pot near the dojo the we get anime power up leading to CGI Rider Kick Knockoff then we see a girl dressed in weird white coloredNinnin-fuuka(she's gonna be the white ranger calling it right now) named Fuuka nervous then AkaNinger demorphs and says it's been 4 years Fuuka asks if red was messing around but he was training to be a ninja then Fuuka gets mad at Takaharu for using the Musou Saber knockoff without permission then Fuuka gives exposition then we find out that Fuuka is Takaharu's sister I would complain but this is the first time that a team has siblings that it's not the whole team while the other 3 Blue, Yellow(who is a boy here), and Pink are their cousins but aren't siblings with each other and then she goes emo over the fact that their grandfather the last ninja died then we meet their father
Father of 2, Uncle of 3(wait Toku shows don't hate parents) who looks like he should be working for Sony then we get MORE EXPOSITION. He reveals he gave Takaharu the sword and the Shuriken we then meet the FABULOUSSSSSS Yakumo "Cloud" Katou Ninnin-yakumo no not Kaito so sadly I cannot use the joke I will use if I review Gaim Decade and Yugioh Zexal dressed in blue (he's gonna be blue calling it) apparently he was in England practicing MAGIC and he just returned (because Haruto found out he wasn't a gate) he then says he isn't the only one there is too meet we meet FATMAN Nagi Matsuo Ninnin-nagi dressed in yellow (he is gonna be yellow I know it) Takaharu says he always was the prankster also he has a sign on his back that says "Watch Your Back" and Fuuka has a sign too only it says "Long Time No See \(^o^)/"(yes it does have an emoji Ok even I felt stupid putting that there) then we meet the final member since their is only 1 girl but 3 boys this last member has too be a girl also last time I checkt Tokoshi Inoue(the guy who wrote Jetman isn't writing this show so Fuuka isn't going to die any time soon. Meet Kasumi Momochi Ninnin-kasumi dressed in pink (you know I would make the I wonder what member of the team she it but it's getting old and considering her last name starts with momo which means pink it kinda makes the joke for me) then everyone minus red gets their shurikens and more exposition apparently the Igasaki family has always been ninjas and apparently their ancestor fought in the Sengoku period as a Kamen Rider sigh I wish and he defeated a Yousenju aka Hermit Yokai player at YCS(Yugioh Championship Series) which is why he is called the last ninja and his grandson learned the art of blind MST ok not really but you already get the picture. Then the Ninningers with Takaharu and Fuuka's father go to the city to premote the Ninninger toyline ok not really but not before hearing an evil laugh coming from a cave take a wild guess who it is then shurikens start flying with the magical power of CGI his name is Kibaoni Gengetsu(sadly no picture of him alone available yet) (insert the alien with purple eyes and a purple dress from Invader Zim shouting "That's a Stupid Name") and sends more foot soliders to unite the world through fear then we see the citizens getting beat up by the Yokai then he puts a shuriken on a chainsaw then by the magical powers of CGI turns it into a robot cat thingy with scythes
SSN-Kamaitachi
 Takaharu tries to get the team to henshin but the Shurikens haven't been blessed by CGI too make toy sales so he decides too arrogantly do it himself but gets his but kicked (me why not henshin idiot it's kinda akward after Toquger to not pray for the team to get their a--es handed to them though) then Fuuka decides it's time to use CGI to Henshin  but they forgot the swords at the dojo (insert me picture of me facepalming) . However daddy never forgets to count toy sales then CGI happens(by that I mean the shurikens are ready to be used to henshin)Still shuriken02   Still shuriken03  Still shuriken04   Still shuriken05  then we get the catchy henshin song good luck getting it out of your head. Then we get fake CGI Settings( I was right on who got to be which member of the team)Cloud Strife huh oh I meant Yakumo(techinally Yakumo = jappanese for cloud so I don't under stand why he prefers to be called cloud he will be playing the rival for Takuhara he's not like Gai Yuki he just prefers to do things his own way he partily will also be playing the brains of the team no not that kind by that I mean he's knowledegable) becomes AoNinger SSNao(Ao= Jappanese for Blue) Matsuo becomes KiNinger SSNki(he will be the "manchild" basically the brawn of the team  but kinda childish I read a bit on his character and I really like his way of thinking though he wants to certificates for random things then the biography says "Maybe he thinks being a ninja is one of them?"(Ki=Jappanese for Yellow) Fukka becomes Shiro Ninger ShiroNinja(she will be the kid appeal character of the team and comic relief but hey at least she can actually take sh*t seriously unlike Toq-5-go before her)(Shiro= Jappenese for White) and Kasumi becomes MomoNinger SSNmomo((she will be playing the brains of this team mucho more thanYakumo) (Momo= Jappanese for Pink)(yes I know earlier I said I didn't know Jappanese I know a few words though but not a lot) then we see some cool ninja fights and we see a frog gun Still gamagamaju01    Gama Gama Goner used by AoNinger which is colored like the triger magnum from Kamen Rider Double and AoNinger and KiNinger get shrunken claws Still karakurihengen01 that for some reason double as extra swordsStill karakurihengen02  cause one isn't enough (WADDYA LOOKIN AT ME FOR) Image result for kamen rider gaim orange arms and The Sonic Arrows from Kamen Rider Gaim Sonic Arrow uhh I meant Bowen ArrowsStill karakurihengen03  then red gets CGI power up slash to finish off cat robot (I'm not gonna lie that was a pretty cool fight though) but the Cat stoner lady(her name is Kyuemon(wait are you sure she is not a Digimon RangerWiki) I haven't seen episode 2 I really neae too though but no more Ninninger reviews till I get  Drive's 1st episode review yet) Izayoi) makes cat robot grow big luckily a cowboy gives the Ninningers some cool shurikens(I thought that was at first gonna be StarNinger Starninger the 6th member of the team but not yet) this summons the robots for this season AkaNinninger gets the Shinobimaru SSN-Shinobimaru which looks like the Battle Feaver Robo,
Battle Fever Robo
  AoNinninger gets the Dragomaru SSN-Dragomaru which looks like the MagidragonMagiDragon the special one from Gokaiger) KiNinninger gets DumpmaruSSN-Dumpmaru  a dump truck that looks like GoGo Dump OO Dump from Boukenger , MomoNinger gets ByunmaruSSN-Byunmaru   which is a bullet train which looks like he Denliner KRDO-DenLiner  (not gonna say it looks like one of the Resshas from Toquger cause Den-o did everything that that show did first), ShiroNinninger gets Wanmaru (Wan is Jappanese for dog bark) a dog SSN-Wanmaru that comes out of Byunmaru(DAYZEE APPROVES also dog with train that reminds me of the movie Hachi a Dog's Tale  btw I double dare you to watch it without crying) which reminds me of Gekiwolf.
Jf-jbeastwolf
 The Ninningers jump on their mechs I gotta give these guys credit for one thing there is little to no CGI when Shinobimaru is fighting the robot cat guy I know I've been giving CGI a hard time the entire review there is nothing wrong with it however I've seen Gokaiger try mech fights with CGI and it looked awful, another cool thing is that Dumpmaru throws Shurikens thats pretty cool and so can Byunmaru and Wanmaru catches Bynmaru's shurikens like it was well a dog playing fetch however Wanmaru requires Byunmaru to work properly. Shinobimaru returns but gets his but kicked which means time for the combination so the Denliner and Gekiwolf combine with Boukenfire and Magidragon then Shinobimaru sits on his Dumptruck throne to form a beyblade SSN-Shurikenjin Samurai Ifraid Top View  ShinobiSaramandaFront SaramandaIfraidSW145SDno joke that is what I thought when I first saw it(also the gattai scene was kinda funny as Shinobimaru sits on Dragomaru Dragomaru forms an arm then Shinobimaru sits on the scoop part of a dump truck then part of Dumpmaru comes off too form another arm then Shinobimaru is seen walking Wanmaru on a leash then Wanmaru goes into Byunmaru and then the rest happens) we do get a bit of bad CGI but its the typical sword slash then finisher buy Shinobimaru has to become one with CGI to get off his throne which I think is pretty cool though so anyway they finish off the monster of the week(next week you'll see that Shinobimaru has the ability to turn into an arm and Suffermaru one of the other mechs revealed has a sword so I think the finisher should be Shinobimaru launches and turns into his arm mode then Dragomaru still in his arm mod and the Dumpmaru's arm kibble thingy should do like a rocket punch attack and do like a FALCON PUNCH that should've been the finisher) but who was the guy dressed like a cowboy well he reveals himself to be the last ninja Yoshitaka Igasaki
News of my death were greatly falsified
  himself and he complains that "BACK IN MY DAY WE DIDN'T HAVE SPANDEX AND HAD TOO USE SHEINKENMARU AND MUSOU SABER KNOCKOFFS TO TRANSFORM"(just like every showa fanboy whose mancrush is Kotaro Minari ever granted he was the one who created the Ninninger wepons and stuff ) and we end off at TRAINING MONTAGE

Overall this wasn't bad I only do Pros and Cons during full show or movie reviews final analyses B- it's not that bad but the pacing was a little off that and we really don't get to know that much about the team other than Takaharu and Fuuka but it could've been much much much worse because at least we get know a bit about Fuuka not one defining trait and Takaharu looks like he won't be nearly as insufferable as Right but King started out that way so who knows this might just be a series that start off strong with quite a bit of hype like Kyroyuger but fails to live up too it.
                                                 
Shinobi-02
                
                                        Next Week Castle Doran is here too eat everyone's souls

                 




No comments:

Post a Comment